Latest Posts

    Y2Mate com – The Ultimate Video and Audio Downloader and Converter

    Article Outline: Introduction What is Y2Mate com? features Video and audio downloader Video converter Cloud-based system How to use Y2Mate? Step by step...

    Warm and Cozy Restaurants: A Perfect Dining Experience

    A warm and cozy restaurants can make a meal feel like a comforting experience. When it comes to dining out, sometimes the ambiance of...

    Pokemon Go Raids: How to Prepare and Succeed in Battling Legendary Pokemon

    One of the most exciting features of Pokémon GO is the ability to participate in Raids. Raids allow Trainers to team up with other...

    Pizza Hut – The Ultimate Destination for Pizza Lovers

    Pizza Hut has been satisfying the cravings of pizza lovers for more than 60 years. The brand is known for its unique and delicious...

    Steven Curtis Chapman takes ‘artist of year’ award at Doves

    The reigning king of contemporary Christian music, Steven Curtis Chapman, took the “artist of the year” award at the April 24 Dove Awards in Nashville. It was the fifth time in eight years that Chapman has been named Christian music’s top artist by the Gospel Music Association.

    Chapman also took home Doves for best male vocalist, best songwriter, and pop-contemporary album of the year for Signs of Life.

    Gary Chapman, who hosts his own program on The Nashville Network, kept the tone of the evening light. At one point he joked that next year’s ceremony would feature a new category called the “It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time” award – “to be known as the Pat Boone award,” a reference to Boone’s controversial album of heavy metal standards done in a big-band style.

    Gary Chapman co-hosted with CeCe Winans, who repeated last year’s showing as female vocalist of the year.

    Toby McKeehan of dc Talk took home the most Dove Awards with five, after being nominated in 13 categories. As a member of dc Talk, he took prizes for rock song of the year, pop-contemporary song of the year, best rock album, and best short-form video. He also earned the rap-hip hop album award as a member of the Gotee Brothers.

    The sentimental favorite “Butterfly Kisses,” written by Bob Carlisle and Randy Thomas, took top honors in the inspirational song category, and was named song of the year. Carlisle wrote the song for his daughter on her 16th birthday, and hadn’t originally intended to record it.

    Here are the winners from the 28th annual Dove Awards, presented April 24 in Nashville.

    Artist of the year: Steven Curtis Chapman.

    Male vocalist: Steven Curtis Chapman.

    Female vocalist: CeCe Winans.

    Group: Jars of Clay.

    New Artist: Jaci Valasquez.

    Songwriter: Steven Curtis Chapman.

    Producer: Charlie Peacock. Song of the year: “Butterfly Kisses,” written by Bob Carlisle and Randy Thomas.

    Alternative/modern rock recorded song: “Epidermis Girl” from Space by Bleach; Brad Ford, Dave Baysinger, Matt Gingerich, Sam Barnhart, Todd Kirby, songwriters.

    Alternative/modern rock album: Free Flying Soul by The Choir; Steve Hindalong, Derry Daughtery, producers.

    Rock recorded song: “Like It, Love It, Need It” from dc Talk’s Jesus Freak; Toby McKeehan, Kevin Smith, Mark Heimermann, David Soldi, Jason Barrett, songwriters.

    Rock album: Jesus Freak by dc Talk; Toby McKeehan, Mark Heimermann, John Painter, producers.

    Pop/contemporary recorded song: “Between You And Me” from Jesus Freak by dc Talk; Toby McKeehan and Mark Heimermann, songwriters.

    Pop/contemporary album: Signs Of Life by Steven Curtis Chapman; produced by Brown Bannister and Steven Curtis Chapman.

    Inspirational recorded song: “Butterfly Kisses” from Shades Of Grace by Bob Carlisle; Bob Carlisle, Randy Thomas, songwriters.

    Inspirational album: Quiet Prayers (My Utmost For His Highest) by Bryan Duncan; produced by Dan Posthuma.

    Country recorded song: “Somebody Was Prayin’ For Me” from Steel Witness by Charlie Daniels; Charlie Daniels, songwriter.

    Country album: Little Bit Of Faith by Jeff Silvey; Randy Boudreaux, producer.

    Rap/hip hop recorded song: “R.I.O.T. (Righteous Invasion of Truth),” from R.I.O.T. (Righteous Invasion of Truth) by Carman, written by Carman and Tommy Simms.

    Rap/hip hop album: Erace, recorded and produced by The Gotee Brothers.

    Southern gospel recorded song: “Only God Knows” from Wherever You Are by The Martins; Joyce Martin McCollough, Harrie McCollough, Joel Lindsey, songwriters.

    Southern gospel album: Wherever You Are by The Martins; Michael Sykes and Michael English, producers.

    Urban recorded song: “Under The Influence” from Under The Influence by Anointed; Mark Heimermann, songwriter.

    Traditional gospel recorded song: “Stop By The Church” from Heritage Of Faith by Babbie Mason; Sullivan Pugh, songwriter.

    Traditional gospel album: Just A Word by Shirley Caesar’s Outreach Conventional Choir; produced by Bubba Smith, Shirley Caesar, and Michael Mathis.

    Contemporary gospel recorded song: “Take Me Back” from Tribute: The Songs Of Andrae Crouch recorded by CeCe Winans; Andrae Crouch, songwriter.

    Contemporary gospel album: Whatcha Lookin’ 4 by Kirk Franklin & The Family; Kirk Franklin, Buster and Shavoni, producers.

    Instrumental album: The Players by Michael Omartian, Dann Huff, Tommy Sims, Tom Hemby, Terry McMillan, Chris Rodriguez, Shane Keister, Mark Douthit, Eric Darken; the players and Bobby Blazier, producers.

    Praise and worship album: Welcome Home by Ron Kenoly; Tom Brooks, producer.

    Children’s music album: Veggie Tales: A Very Veggie Christmas; produced by Phil Vishcer, Kurt Heinecke, and Mike Nawrocki.

    Special event album: Tribute: The Songs Of Andrae Crouch featuring performances by CeCe Winans, Michael W. Smith, Twila Paris, Bryan Duncan, Wayne Watson, The Winans, Clay Crosse, Take 6, The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, First Call, Andrae Crouch and All Star Choir; created by Norman Miller and Neal Joseph.

    Musical of the year: “Make Us One”; created by Babbie Mason, Kenny Mann, and David T. Clydesdale.

    Youth/children’s musical of the year: “Candy Cane Lane”; Celeste and David T. Clydesdale, creators.

    Choral collection: “My Tribute: Celebrating The Songs of Andrae Crouch – Collection”; Dale Mathews and John DeVries, creators.

    Recorded music packaging: Take Me To Your Leader by Newsboys; Toni Fitzpenn, art director; Michael Wilson, Norman Roy, George Barris, graphic designers; Anderson Thomas, photographer/illustrator.

    Short-form music video: “Jesus Freak” by dc Talk; Steve Strachen, producer; Simon Maxwell, director.

    Long-form music video: “Roadwork” by Geoff Moore and The Distance; directed by Tom Bevins, produced by Darlene Brock and Gael Van Sant.

    – E.P. News

    Admin Mail : [email protected]